So far I’ve had really good results with this. I’ve tried three different herbs: Basil, dill and cilantro, so far. I made basil and dill butter which is really simple. You simply bring a stick of butter to softened/room temperature, chop the herb and mix them up.

I have all these little plastic containers from Boogie’s meals…I got some from One Step Ahead specifically designed for freezing small amounts of food. I, also, have some recycled from Plum Baby Foods that I’ve bought for Boogie. A very good baby food brand, by the way. Glad brand also makes some small containers I think designed for salad dressings. Those are great for this. I put the herb butters in these containers and freeze.

I’ve also made a lot of basil pesto, as mentioned in prior posts and that freezes well. I, again, use small containers. Additionally, I froze chopped cilantro in lime juice and chopped dill in lemon juice. Herbs just don’t last very long even when you pre-wash them and wrap in paper towels. This is a good way to get a longer life out of them and save food and money.